There’s A Piper In Every Town!

The Piper or Clyde Piper was a bar in Clyde, Ohio where I grew up. It opened in the late 70’s (i think) by a family friend the Warnecke’s It was a place to go to have a beer meet friends hear the towns gossip. I don’t remember a lot about the time when the Warnecke’s owned the bar…I was younger then. Later on though they sold it…The next owner kept the name and by then I was older and in the Marine Corps. When I would come home on leave it was the first place I stopped…sometimes before home. The best night to go there was Thursday’s it was Taco night. The crowd was always great…from the newly 21-year-old to your parents and grandparents. The decor wasn’t exactly nice…mostly dingy but it was a place to meet and have good times…a place like home.

I’ve traveled the world through my time in the Marine Corps and with work. The one thing constant is “The Piper”. Oh it may go by another name but everywhere I’ve traveled “The Piper” was there waiting for me…waiting for me to come in and order a drink and meet everyone. That’s what I’d do, by the time I left I knew the bartender, waitress>>>really well đŸ™‚ and the town drunk…sometimes did really want to meet this one. It was a place close to wear I stayed where ever I was at a place that reminded me of home it was home.

This is my list of towns and Piper’s….

Fremont, Oh…The Depot, Time Out, Buds (some towns can have more than one especially when I live there đŸ™‚

Huron, Oh…The Fire House

San Clemente, Ca…Goody’s Tavern

Chicago, Il…Butch McGuire’s

Oceanside, Ca….McCabe’s Beach Club

Newport Beach, Ca…Blackie’s

Tijuana, Mexico…Tilly’s Fifth Avenue

Camp Fuji, Japan (can’t remember the town’s name)…White Tiger

29 Palms, Ca…The Stumps and The Jumping Cholla

Palm Springs, Ca…Ballons

Lake Havasu, Az…Beach Party (not a bar but a party on the beach every weekend)

St. Louis, Mo…America’s Pub

Wichita, Ks…The hotel bar at the Best Western (I think that’s what it was)…don’t ask

Dallas, Tx…The Ghost Bar

New York (Time Square)….O’Brien’s Irish Pub (on West 46th)

Treasure Island, Fl…The Hut Bar and Grille (at John’s Pass)

Portsmouth, Oh…The Scioto Ribber

Waikiki, Hi….Zelda’s

Olongapo City, Philippines….The Trac Bar (for Amtracer’s only)

Columbus (Hilliard), Oh…Woo Doggies and Patrick’s

Santa Barbara, Ca…O’Malley’s Bar

Big Bear, Ca…The bar at Snow Summit

Toledo, Oh…The Blarney, The Distillery, Doc Watson’s

New Orleans, La….The Cat’s Meow

Philadelphia, Pa…Mike Schmidt’s

Okay, I’ll stop there…I could go on and on. Wherever you grew up wherever your favorite bar you can relate to this blog. When you travel you always look for somewhere like home. Where’s your Piper

Tim

By Tim

3 comments on “There’s A Piper In Every Town!

  1. Pingback: Home Sweet Home….San Clemente « Thoughts From The Tragically Flawed Mind Of Tim

Leave a Reply

