Prom Night….Have You Seen My Daughter With My Credit Card Prt II

I thought I’d do a follow-up Blog to my past blog https://timhon.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/have-you-seen-my-daughter-with-my-credit-card/ Since my daughter”s high school prom was Saturday night.

Now normally you can’t get her out of bed on a Saturday before noon unless you beat her with something. Today was different though. I woke up at my normal 8ish and stumbled out of my room on the way to the much-needed restroom. What did I find???? a closed-door. She had beaten me to it. The prom which was to start at 8:30 that evening, my daughter had already begun to get ready. Good bye to anything normal that would have happened that day.

My day had been planned around “The Prom”. After the normal Saturday morning routine of picking up the house and a coffee, I heading to my friend’s house to help get ready for the “House Prom Group” of which my daughter and her date were a part of. This consisted of 14 teenage kids (7 couples). We had decided to plan and cook and then serve their dinner. If this is something that you haven’t experienced, let me tell you, it was one of the best days…nights with my daughter I’ve ever had. The dinner, which was to be Roasted Pork lion, Grilled Chicken Breast, Finger Potatoes, Beans and Carrots and a few other side dishes prepared by other parents. Deserts included, Chocolate covered strawberries, and two trays of individual Cheese Cakes. All served by us parents. Now this day started out early enough to get all this accomplished. Big Top Tent, tables, white chairs, white linen table clothes, and purple linen napkins. The weather was great, the beer was cold (for the adults) and the day started. All had to be completed in time for pictures at Spiegel Grove (The home of Rutherford B. Hayes and his Library) which was to be 4:30ish…..Chicken to be grilled just after.

The first couple started arriving around 4ish and then it happened. My daughter arrived; I can tell you know, it didn’t matter what I spent on that dress….I don’t care if cost a $1 or $10,000, the site of her brought a tear to my eye. I don’t think I’ve ever seen something more beautiful in my life. The rest of the group came in and the girls who got ready at the house came pouring out. All I could think is…they didn’t make girls this beautiful when I was in school. Each and every one of them were stunning. I’m sure they made their parents as proud of them as I was of mine. The guys looked like they stepped out of a catalog….perfection in Tux.

We headed over to take pictures and what an ordeal this was, but they got through it….as I would soon learn, pictures are more for the parents than the kids. I’m sure they would have been happy with one or two and not the 200 I took….I would not be alone though. After pictures we all headed back to finish up the cooking and then dinner to be served. The Limo Bus arrived and a last few pictures to be taken as they head off to what could be the best night of their lives.

When it was all said and done, It was probably one of the best day/nights of my life. To be able to share it with my friends was incredible. Thank you Tom and Nancicarol for asking me to be apart of this day.

Tim

By Tim

2 comments on “Prom Night….Have You Seen My Daughter With My Credit Card Prt II

Leave a Reply

