With Love I Write These Words From A Father’s Heart

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a Blog (a letter) to the little girls who’ve change my life. At that time I chose not to publish the letter I wrote to my daughter’s. After some consideration, I thought I should just put it out there. If you missed the Blog I wrote a couple of weeks ago, click the link to read. https://timhon.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/with-a-tear-i-write-these-words-from-a-fathers-eye/

To Danielle Normalea and To Sydney Ann.

The days when you arrived in this world, I was happy, excited, anxious but mostly scared shitless. I didn’t know how you would see me, how I would see you, could I love you as much as you needed. Then the day came and I discovered that I couldn’t feel anymore joy, anymore love and anymore pain in the world. Having a hand in raising you and loving you has been the most  profound experience of my life.

The memories of first holding the both of you will last a lifetime in my heart. When I think about reading to you or dancing back and forth while listening to The Lion King soundtrack trying to put you to sleep, it brings a tear to my eye. I’ll never forget just spinning in circles with you in the living room or the Butterfly Kisses at night. It still makes me laugh when I remember putting lemon juice on the top of your water bottle and watch the two of you giggle at the sour taste. The time when we were all a family together were good times….times that were suppose to last forever. I apologize to you for my part in that ending. I’m sorry that I couldn’t be there for every new tooth, for every pain or sickness. I’m sorry if my actions or in-actions have caused you pain. I’m sorry if I’ve caused you embarrassment or brought shame to you.

As you know by now, I’m basically a child myself…some would argue worse. Sometimes I know it doesn’t seem like I care about anything at all and other times everything. One day I’ll perfect this emotion and maybe grow up to be the father you expect…you deserve. If I could have you believe one thing as you go forward, believe in yourselves. The both of you are so beautiful…You’re kind, loving and talented. The both of you have hearts of gold and will do amazing things with your lives.

Sydney, you are wise beyond your years, your knowledge astounds me. You are growing up so fast, but be patient…take some time out to be a kid. Your childhood won’t last forever and soon you’ll be on your way to teach the world. Take the time to play to, to run through the fields and get dirty. I love you more than I can put thought to words, I’m proud of you and I cant wait to witness your next chapter in life…you were born to spread joy.

Danielle, your charm is only eclipsed by your energy. I wish I could harness it for the world to use. Your gift of life is to bring happiness to others. A smile from your face can mend the weakest of hearts and your frown can tear a fathers out. These 17 years have gone by so fast, I remember teaching you to ride a bike like it was the other day and now you’re driving a car and about to enter your last year of school. I love you dearly and I’m proud of the young women you’ve become.

The thought of living in a world where the two of you don’t exist would end the world in which mine does. Your existence has brought an un-measurable  amount of happiness to mine. The two of you will go on to bigger and brighter things than my life could have ever offered. The feelings I have for you can never be expressed on paper but felt in my heart.

I love you dearly

Dad

By Tim

5 comments on “With Love I Write These Words From A Father’s Heart

  1. Daddy, I love you so much! I really appreciate every single word!
    ironic enough I had an assignment for English class and we had to bring in a “meaningful song” I played Butterfly kisses to my whole class, and when my teacher asked me why I chose that song I told her that my dad used to give me “butterfly kisses before I went to bed at night” and that i love the song and every time I hear it I think of my daddy.
    I love you so so so much ❤

Leave a Reply

